TT: Banana Butternut Squash Muffins

I was inspired to bake banana butternut squash muffins both by my love for banana bread and the abundance of ripe bananas and leftover baked squash in our house. I was inspired by these two recipes from Shauna Niequest and Megan. I loved how they turned out and the fact that their yummy sweetness came entirely from the bananas and squash! Here is my modified version:

In one bowl, mix together the wet ingredients:

2 eggs

1 cup of butternut squash puree (or pumpkin/another squash)

4 medium bananas, mashed

*I tried a trick with my bananas that I found here – I roasted my already-ripe bananas in the oven at 300 degrees until the skins were blackened, then left them in the fridge while I mixed the dry ingredients. When I took the bananas out of the fridge, they were gooey and kind of gross, but absolutely perfect for baking!

In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients:

3/4 cup of oats

3/4 cup oat flour (I made my own by simply blending oats)

1/2 cup almond flour (again, I made my own by grinding almonds in a coffee grinder. I learned that trick from my sister!)

1 1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp nutmeg (be aware that nutmeg is really strong, so don’t go too crazy)

heaping 1/2 tsp cinnamon (honestly, add as much as you want! I love cinnamon!)

1/4 tsp salt

Mix together the wet and dry ingredients – the batter will be nice and thick! – and then spoon into muffin tins. I was able to make one pan of regular sized muffins and one pan of mini muffins. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and then… ENJOY!

I loved getting into the kitchen to bake one of my favorites – banana bread – in a new way. The almond flour lends a scrumptious nutty flavor and the use of that and oats means that this recipe is also Gluten Free! For me, however, the best part is how much fruit/veggie goodness is in these muffins – making them perfectly moist and naturally sweet. What are you waiting for? Go try them out!

Leave a Reply

