MM: Attitude is Everything

A few years ago, we found a plaque at a garage sale that read “Attitude is Everything.” My mom, quite excited at the find, bought it and hung it in our bathroom with a small addendum. The plaque now reads “A good attitude is everything” – an important reminder for me and the topic of today’s musings.

When I stop to think about it I realize that I have literally nothing worthy of complaining about. Sure, there are things or situations in my life that make me irritable or seem unjust. There are many, many more things, however, for which I should be grateful and be praising God – I shouldn’t have any time left to complain! Even if I had time left over to complain, what is the use of that? Whining does nothing to change a tough circumstance. Having a good attitude, on the other hand, can completely turn a situation around if only by giving you a more positive perspective.

Choosing to have a good attitude does not mean that one must never struggle. It does not mean denying the reality of an irritation or frustration. I think, though, that it means talking to God about those difficulties more than you talk to other people about them. It means not complaining about problems but addressing them. It means being willing to put up with more than you think you should.

One of the first things you notice about someone when you meet them is their personality or demeanor. As Christians, we are trying to live like Christ. Therefore, our attitudes should be like Jesus’ was. I don’t think Jesus would complain about not having any spinach in the fridge to make a salad for lunch, or about the behavior of a colleague that rubs me the wrong way. In fact, I don’t think Jesus would have complained at all.

I imagine that Jesus chose instead to step into each day with a good attitude and his mind set on the work His Father had laid out ahead for Him. I want to do the same thing. I desire to let go of the things that bother me and lean on the joy of the Lord, so I pray: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, oh Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” (Psalm 19:14).

Leave a Reply

