TT: Carrot Cake Quinoa Muffins

The recipe I am about to share with you I put together back in May – right after I had gotten home from college and was simply rejoicing at the opportunity to get back in the kitchen and bake! I honestly cannot recall from where I adapted the recipe for these muffins, but I do remember how fun they were to make. If you have leftover quinoa that you want to put to good use or you simply want to get some carrot cake goodness in your life, I recommend trying these out!

Dry ingredients:
1 1/4 cup of oats (to produce 1 cup of oat flour)
1/4 cup of uncooked quinoa (to produce 1 cup of cooked quinoa)
1 Tbs cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp baking powder

Wet ingredients:
1 plum blended/pureed1 cup yogurt
1/2 cup honey
2 tsp vanilla

Combine the dry ingredients and wet ingredients in separate bowls, then mix the two together. Next, grate 2 large carrots and squeeze out the excess liquid before adding the gratings to the mix. I had about 3/4 cup of carrot. Squeezing the carrots will yield some tasty carrot juice – yum! I drank it while I finished up my baking 🙂 Finally, add 1/2 cup raisins if you wish!

Spoon the mix into muffin tins. I made 12 normal-sized and 12 mini muffins. Bake at 350 degrees for 22-24 minutes. Yum! Enjoy these protein- and nutrient-rich goodies – perfect for a school day breakfast and the transition from summer to fall with the rich cinnamon-y flavor. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

