TT: Chickpea-Banana “Ice Cream”

Here is another “ice cream” recipe since it only seems to be getting hotter here in beautiful Hawaii! This remarkably simple recipe emerged from my quest for a snack option that was not only healthy and tasty, but also a good source of protein. Often I load up on peanut butter and tell myself that I’m getting good protein (not entirely untrue!), but chickpeas/garbanzo beans are another great protein source.

To make this cool treat, simply blend up:
1 banana (I used one that was already frozen)3/4 cup chickpeas
1/4 cup soy milk

That’s it! Freeze in a tupperware. The consistency was ideal after about 2-3 hours of freezing. Otherwise, simply defrost for several minutes before eating. If I can’t wait that long, I will microwave it for about 10-15 seconds and it softens to the smooth consistency that I can’t get enough of.

This recipe makes enough for about two servings. The garbanzo bean taste is not at all overpowering and in fact seems slightly nutty to me. I recommend topping it with peanut butter (I can’t get enough!), fruit, or cinnamon and then… dig in! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

